Skip to content
HAPPY NEW YEAR, READERS! If you're new, WELCOME! If you've been following us & helped us make it through 2022, THANK YOU!
HAPPY NEW YEAR, READERS! If you're new, WELCOME! If you've been following us & helped us make it through 2022, THANK YOU!

Who Gets Believed?

Original price $27.00 - Original price $27.00
Original price
$27.00
$27.00 - $27.00
Current price $27.00

THIS ITEM IS AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER ONLY AND WILL BE RELEASED ON 07 MARCH 2023.

When the Truth Isn't Enough

From the author of The Ungrateful Refugee - finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Kirkus Prize - Who Gets Believed? is a groundbreaking book about persuasion and performance that asks unsettling questions about lies, truths, and the difference between being believed and being dismissed in situations spanning asylum interviews, emergency rooms, consulting jobs, and family life

Why are honest asylum seekers dismissed as liars?

Former refugee and award-winning author Dina Nayeri begins with this question, turning to shocking and illuminating case studies in this book, which grows into a reckoning with our culture's views on believability. From persuading a doctor that she'd prefer a C-section to learning to "bullshit gracefully" at McKinsey to struggling, in her personal life, to believe her troubled brother-in-law, Nayeri explores an aspect of our society that is rarely held up to the light.

For readers of David Grann, Malcolm Gladwell, and Atul Gawande, Who Gets Believed? is a book as deeply personal as it is profound in its reflections on morals, language, human psychology, and the unspoken social codes that determine how we relate to one another.