Skip to content
HAPPY NEW YEAR, READERS! If you're new, WELCOME! If you've been following us & helped us make it through 2022, THANK YOU!
HAPPY NEW YEAR, READERS! If you're new, WELCOME! If you've been following us & helped us make it through 2022, THANK YOU!

House of Cotton

Original price $27.99 - Original price $27.99
Original price
$27.99
$27.99 - $27.99
Current price $27.99

THIS ITEM IS AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER ONLY AND WILL BE RELEASED ON 04 APRIL 2023.

A stunning, contemporary Black southern gothic novel about what it means to be a poor woman in the God- fearing south. Perfect for readers of The Other Black Girl and Luster

Magnolia Brown is nineteen years old, broke, and effectively an orphan. She feels stuck and haunted: by her overdrawn bank account, her predatory landlord, and the ghost of her late grandmother Mama Brown.

One night, while working at her dead-end gas station job, a mysterious, slick stranger named Cotton walks in and offers to turn Magnolia's luck around with a lucrative "modeling" job at his family's funeral home. She accepts. But despite things looking up, Magnolia's problems fatten along with her wallet. When Cotton's requests become increasingly weird, Magnolia discovers there's a lot more at stake than just her rent.

Sharp as a belted knife, this sly social commentary cuts straight to the bone. House of Cotton will keep you mesmerized until the very last page.